Texas Real Estate License Requirements E-mail

Salesperson's License Requirements

1. At least 18 years old.
2. 180 classroom hours of acceptable education as of 9/1/2012
The requirement will be the hours listed below.

60 Hours in Principles
30 Hours in Law of Contracts
30 Hours in Law of Agency
30 Hours in Finance
30 Hours in Promulgated Forms

 

3. A Texas resident.
4. Have a sponsoring broker. As of September 1, 2001 you do not need a sponsoring broker to file an application. You will be issued an inactive license until you have a sponsoring broker. You CANNOT practice real estate until you have a sponsoring broker.
5. Pay applicable fees and be fingerprinted.
6. Pass the State Exam.

Salesperson's License Re-certification For A License Issued or Filed An Application Prior to 1/1/2006.

90 additional core hours and 8 hours Legal I and Legal II for FIRST renewal for the first two years of licensure. Salesperson's Apprentice Education (SAE). Beginning in year three, the licensee is required to complete 18 hours of  Continuing Education (CE) per renewal.

Salesperson's License Re-certification For An Application Filed or  License Issued In 2006 or Later.

60 additional core hours before the licensee's first renewal.  Starting in the second year, the licensee is subject to the MCE requirement.

Salesperson's License Re-certification For An Application Filed or  License Issued After 1/1/2012.

90 additional core hours before the licensee's first renewal.  Starting in the second year, the licensee is subject to the MCE requirement.

Broker License Requirements
1. Have an active salesperson's license for 48 of the last 60 months.
Out-of-state brokers can apply using their active broker's licensure.
2. Complete 900 Hours of acceptable education.
270 of those hours must be "core real estate education.  For Broker applications filed on or after 1/1/08, 30 of the 270 hours must be a course in Real Estate Brokerage. 
630 hours can be acquired from college transcripts or other acceptable education.   An applicant must demonstrate not less than 3600 points of qualifying practical experience obtained during four out of five years as required by 535.56(b) of the Rules of the Texas Real Estate Commission.
3. Pay applicable fees and pass the State Exam.

Broker License Re-certification
To renew a broker's license the licensee must complete 18 hours of  Continuing Education (CE).

Copyright © 2005. Capital Real Estate Training & Texas Tech University. All Rights Reserved.